I Prefer Uptown Funk But Sometimes You’re Just in a Funk

I realized the other day when meeting with my therapist I was officially in a funk. It wasn’t until I started talking that it really hit me. I knew there were certain things bothering me but didn’t realize all the other ones lying below the surface.

I so love my therapist. She has given me such insight into things and of course makes me realize I’m not crazy. When we started talking about all the things happening in my life she just shook her head knowingly and said “Well of course you are in a funk!” as she succinctly listed all the things I had shared with her. When I heard the list repeated back to me as a summary, it all made sense. Such a simple exercise to make me feel “normal”.

I left her that day with an action plan I had come up with of three things I could do to help get me out of my funk. God bless her for helping to show me the way back to my happy  uptown funk place.

Here’s the song my son and I can be seen all around town dancing to in the car with windows down and music blaring. That is one of my happiest places.

https://youtu.be/lRfX-N0cABo

This entry was posted in Be Open, Be Yourself, Change, Crazy, Finding Yourself, Funk, Happy, Life, Sadness, Self Discovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Prefer Uptown Funk But Sometimes You’re Just in a Funk

  1. jryan0312 says:

    Link goes to an ad on my email. Love connecting with you this way you Funky girl!

    On 5/15/15, 6:28 AM, “Journey Beside Me” wrote:

    > journeybesideme posted: “I realized the other day when meeting with my > therapist I was officially in a funk. It wasn’t until I started talking that > it really hit me. I knew there were certain things bothering me but didn’t > realize all the other ones lying below the surface. I so” >

LEAVE A COMMENT

