A Child Will Never Hurt You But an Adult Always Has the Possibility

A very good friend said this to me today and it really got me thinking. Is it true?

The more I thought about it, the more I believe it is true…but with a caveat. It’s one of those things that will stick with me for some time. I’ve never thought of it like that.

I believe children do have the purest of hearts. And I believe they would never intentionally hurt anyone. So when does that change? Is it just through life’s circumstances that we become “hardened” and our hearts are no longer open and pure? Is it a coping mechanism we develop with time? Is it possible to change that?

I don’t believe people are WANTING to hurt anyone. I believe when they do, it is more a cry for help, for love. It is that, “Hey! I’m hurting over here. See how that feels. Remind me what it’s like to feel.  Will someone just pay attention to me? Love me? Tell me I’m worth it? Tell me I’m ok? Tell me I AM good enough? Anyone?” I believe we are all just trying to do the best with what we’ve got and the hand we’ve been dealt.

I know there are those that would argue there are bad, mean, awful people in this world. But I believe they did not start that way; it is not how we are born. Somewhere along the way they were wounded. Something happened in their story of life that created that. I believe with enough love we can change that. That’s the world I live in.

If I could give you one thing in life, I would give you the ability to see yourself through my eyes, only then would you realize how special you are.

Keep calm because all we need is love

This entry was posted in Be Yourself, Finding Yourself, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

LEAVE A COMMENT

