Memorial Day 2014: the Day When I Went Into the Valley of Darkness

I’m laying here in my bed at 3am thinking about what I wanted to do for Memorial Day this year. And this year I want it to be a celebration of how far I’ve come and how happy I am.

Funny, in order to do that I felt the need to remind myself of where I was last year on that day. I had no house of my own as I was renting my sister’s house, my parents were in town helping me, I was flat on my back in an incredible amount of pain living on a bed in the living room, I had canceled cervical spine surgery two weeks prior and I didn’t have a clue what I was going to do about the problems with my neck, I was officially divorced three weeks, I was in the midst of a disconnect with my son who I have always had an incredible connection with, the friends I thought I had were not showing up in my life the way I thought they would and I couldn’t physically write which had always helped me process such things. I was alone in my thoughts and I had officially hit the lowest point in my life. So I cried most of the day. 

I knew full well I was in the valley of darkness. And although on this day I had no idea how I was going to get out, I knew somehow I would. I knew I had to cry those tears and feel that pain. And so I did.

And here I am on the other side of that valley shouting from the mountaintop how happy I am. We all have our journeys and I am choosing to embrace every part of mine. Thank you for the sadness so I can appreciate my happiness.

  

This entry was posted in Awakening, Be Open, Change, coming out, Crazy, Family, Finding Yourself, Happy, Life, peace, Self Discovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memorial Day 2014: the Day When I Went Into the Valley of Darkness

  1. Deana says:

    very lovely and beautiful to have observed your Journey first hand from afar. Keep soaring for those incredible mountain tops. Your go girl and thrive always for your dreams

  2. The Little Butch That Could (TLBTC) says:

    Continued blessings along your journey. Peace.

LEAVE A COMMENT

