Have You Practiced Receiving Lately?

I had an amazing lesson today with an opportunity for growth in such a simple act.

But first, as many things, the lesson started in my childhood. I can remember when I was in high school, dating this boy and he gave me a teddy bear. I didn’t know how to receive it. It was very awkward for me, a simple gesture of kindness on his part. He just wanted to give me a teddy bear to show his appreciation for me and I made light of it and quite honestly didn’t know what to do with such kindness. I told my mom of the situation at the time and she gave me the words of advice that I will forever remember and I’m still trying to live into. She said, “It’s just as important to receive as it is to give.”

As I’ve matured, I realize the significance of the fact it is just as important to receive as it is to give. Because in order to be able to give, you need to have someone who is willing to receive. 

Most of us know the feeling that you get when you give. I know for me it is a wonderful sense of happiness that I get when I give. It just feels good to be able to do something for someone else. But all through my life I have always found it difficult to receive. That is now changing.

I had a wonderful gift given to me yesterday. I had to cancel my healer appointment later in the week because of my new job. Luckily she was able to find an appointment for me the day I canceled. So I had had a long day at work and decided to drive over to her office 45 minutes early so I could avoid traffic and more importantly to just stay there and relax in the calmness of the location. While I was there she texted me asking me if I could come 15 minutes later because her appointment before me was running late. I texted her back that I was actually there in the parking lot and not to worry I would enjoy the nice, quiet time. Once I got in to see her I was given a gift. She said that the woman before me felt so bad about the time that she paid for my appointment. It didn’t make sense. I wasn’t really put out, I was enjoying my time in the serenity of the location. My head immediately went into “I’ll just pay for my appointment. She doesn’t need to do that. I don’t deserve that. Why would she do that for me, she doesn’t even know me? I wasn’t put out. I’ll just pay it forward.” My healer went on to say that the woman felt so bad about it that she felt very strongly and she really wanted to do this. So I decided to treat it for what it was… A wonderful, unexpected gift and I was going to accept it graciously and gratefully. It was yet another lesson in receiving and I finally have realized it actually feels good to receive. What a beautiful gift that is!

  

This entry was posted in Awakening, Be Open, Be Yourself, Change, Finding Yourself, Giving, Life, peace, Receiving, Self Discovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

LEAVE A COMMENT

