I Had to Get Divorced to Pick Out My Own Paint Color

I have been in an incredible space of self-discovery lately and allowing myself to do, be and try anything.

I decided it was time to add some color to my life. I could think of no better place to start than to paint my bedroom.

There I was at Lowe’s staring at the wall of color chips. All I knew was I wanted my room to feel like I was in the sky sleeping in the clouds. After hemming and hawing, I chose a few different color swatches and got a sample jar of each. Armed with my paint and miscellaneous paint brushes and rollers I headed home to go play. I was so excited I didn’t even change out of my Sunday best.

As I dipped the paint brush in the sample jar and put that brush to the wall, it hit me like a ton of bricks. I had never chosen my own color paint without thinking what my former husband would think. I had never chosen the colors I wanted. And we had built an entire house in which I had chosen the colors for 17 rooms. As that paintbrush was putting the new paint to the wall in my new bedroom I also realized I had never painted a wall… Ever. When the paint dried I also learned painting isn’t as easy as it looks.

It was such a freeing experience like I had never experienced. I was enjoying this new found freedom so much that I ended up using the entire sample jar on my wall. I played with designs, I made waves, I made circles, I made swirls. I just put paint on the wall and uncovered yet another part of me.

IMG_6192

This entry was posted in Awakening, Change, Finding Yourself, Husband, Life, peace, Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Had to Get Divorced to Pick Out My Own Paint Color

  1. Deana says:

    go nuts kiddo and enjoy your freedom to do whatever, wherever, whenever you want. It builds and strengthens once courage and all needing self confidence. Charge on girl and enjoy all from these new found experiences

  2. Pingback: You Stay Here, I’ll Go On Ahead | Journey Beside Me

LEAVE A COMMENT

