It’s Not What You Do But Who You Are

6/15/12  Today was a day I will never forget as long as I live. Two life changing events were about to happen. I had my appointment with my healer today and it was huge, life changing to be exact. I will never forget it.

During the meditation I saw that I was a baby, a mother; in the light, I was the light; under the water, I was the water. I was part of everything and everything was part of me.

I saw a woman with long hair in a flowy dress standing at a cliff. She was ready to jump off but she/I realized it was not just a jump but the fact after you jump, you FLY. Get over the scary part of jumping as there is an amazing flight to follow. Look beyond the jump and know that you can fly.

I then saw a blond woman laying down when suddenly she quickly sat straight up. It was as if she had just woken up after being asleep and was ready to take action. Then suddenly the simple words came to me, “It’s Not What You Do But Who You Are”.

Afterwards my healer not knowing any of this was going on in my head said, “Wow! That was huge!” I agreed. All I knew was there was a huge shift in me and I couldn’t quite verbalize it. I also knew it was life changing.

Later that day was another huge realization. I had been wanting to walk a nearby labyrinth. If you’re not familiar with this practice it has been used for thousands of years to help people to clear their minds and give insight during life’s transitions. Here’s a little more about them if you’re interested: Labyrinth.

What I realized after walking the labyrinth was “It IS all about ME”. There is so much negativity about that statement in our society but I really realized it today. Without the authentic me, what is there? I get it! I HAVE to be me, no matter what. It’s my path. I create it. I walk it. Stop looking to others and look to myself. The words, “You can do it” kept flooding my head. As I was leaving the labyrinth my son’s book that I’ve read 1,000 times popped in my head, “Snuggle Puppy”. The lines that are repeated throughout the book, “I love what you are. I love what you do. Snuggle Puppy, I LOVE YOU!”

Literally as soon as I set my foot in my car to leave, my husband called my cell phone. He got very quiet when I told him where I was and was very upset that I had not called our problem tenant. And bam! We’re back to the reality of my emotional roller coaster.

This entry was posted in Awakening, Change, coming out, Gay, Lesbian, LGBT, Meditation, Universe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Not What You Do But Who You Are

  1. Lafemmeroar says:

    Your statement:

    Without the authentic me, what is there? I get it! I HAVE to be me, no matter what. It’s my path.

    is sooo true and more people should have that realization.

  2. Loz says:

    I think the real challenge after you’ve had such a wonderful deep realization, is in handling the distractions and daily things in life that get in the way and seek to pull you off your path. Stay mindful of your experience with your healer and it will help you to stay on your path and manage the things you need to in the meantime. Well done!

    • Loz, sounds like you’ve been down this path before. 🙂 I couldn’t have said it any better. Yes, there are many pulls trying to get me off my path. It is hard to stay the course but lucky for me I have these experiences to go back to. Thanks as always for your comments; I really do appreciate them. Keep ’em coming!

      • Loz says:

        Yes I have been down that path (am currently skipping along it), and sure I will keep on commenting so long as I think I have something slightly interesting and relevant to say 🙂 Glad to connect with you.

  3. sapphospeaks says:

    What a powerful post. I am in awe of the way you work to find yourself. I feel as if I have been lazy in my journey. I did so much more reading, meditating, studying when I was married but have not since then although I know there is much more to be done. Thank you for sharing something so personal. You inspire me.

    • Sappho, thanks so much for the kind words. I think we all go thru our ‘phases’ of working on ourselves. I know I wish I could say I work on me all the time but then life happens. It’s all part of the fun ride we’re on. I’m also honored that little ole me could inspire you.

LEAVE A COMMENT

