Time for a Little Diversion

Surprise!6/1/12  The day for the birthday surprise had finally arrived. I was able to make the flight to Massachusetts work out, I had organized the babysitter for my son Friday and Monday and my husband filled in on the balance of the weekend. The plan was now in motion.

It was such fun to be heading back to Massachusetts as my friend’s birthday surprise. I kept thinking what an honor this was and how lucky I was to have such a good friend.

Her husband picked me up at the airport and we headed back to their neighbor’s house. On the way there he called my friend, Fiona to suggest we do pizza for dinner…and to make sure she was home. Of course she was busy making a pasta salad and some other goodies. We parked at the neighbor’s house, gathered everyone up and went over to Fiona’s house. The neighbor and I waited in the basement while her husband went upstairs to let her know he had a birthday surprise in the basement but first she had to close her eyes. She yelled at him for something or other while we laughed quietly in the basement. Afterall, this was very normal for their relationship. He came down to get us, he walked in front of me while the neighbor recorded the whole thing on her phone. Fiona continued making her pasta salad, then closed her eyes, I walked right next to her and then he told her to turn around and open her eyes. What a blast to see her surprised, happy face! We hugged and danced around the kitchen as she cried tears of joy. We were later able to get our other roommate from the old aparment to come over. We spent the night reliving the old days in our apartment together, laughing hysterically.

I was again filled with such happiness and felt so honored and blessed to be here as her birthday surprise. It was just what the doctor had ordered…for both of us.

This entry was posted in Birthday Surprise, Friends, Gay, Husband, Lesbian, LGBT, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for a Little Diversion

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Awww I love that. How very sweet. I was at a party this weekend where my girlfriend’s husband flew in her cousin from Scotland. It made me cry when I saw her excitement.

  2. sapphospeaks says:

    Incredibly sweet!

  3. Loz says:

    Beautiful post! Thanks for sharing.

LEAVE A COMMENT

